Spencer Native Crowned 2010 Homecoming Queen

Eliza Hodge, a junior musical arts major from Spencer, West Virginia, was crowned Alderson Broaddus University Homecoming Queen during the 2010 Homecoming Pageant on Friday, October 8. Hodge was sponsored by Sigma Alpha Iota.

Ms. Hodge  has been involved with many organizations during her tenure at AB University. She is a member of the Concert Choir, Concert Band, and the Jazz Band. She is the daughter of Michael and Judith Hodge of Spencer, West Virginia.

First Runner-Up was Tia Price, a musical arts major from Clarksburg, West Virginia. As a student, she has the privilege of participating in Concert Choir, Chapel Choir, Chamber Ensemble, and being an active member of the praise and worship team.  As a member of the concert choir she had a solo in Carnegie Hall, New York City, was part of the choir tour through Italy, and has participated in many vocal competitions. Price is also a member of the honors program and Forensics team. In addition to her college activities, Tia is an active member of Elkins Church of God, where she is a member of the praise team on Sunday Mornings and volunteers for youth services. She was sponsored by the Speech and Debate Team.

Second Runner-Up was Sandra Van Dine, an elementary education major from Alma, West Virginia. A sophomore, Ms. Van Dine is a member of Community Service Council, SAIL, the Student Government Association, Panhellenic Council, Women's Soccter Team, and serves as a Battler Guide.  She is the daughter of Sam and Donna VanDine of Alma, West Virginia. She was sponsored by Phi Kappa Delta.

Miss Congeniality was Alyssa Jones. A sophomore political science major from Petersburg, West Virginia, she is the daughter of Jeff and Sheri Lafferre, also of Petersburg, West Virginia. She is a member of the Student Government Association, serves as Sophomore Class President, and is a member of Sigma Alpha Iota, Community Service Council, the Speech and Debate Team, SAIL, and is a Resident Assistant. She was sponsored by the Student Government Association.

Other contestants include Tessa Beitzel, Brittany Howard,  Kaitlin Thorsell, Hilary McConnell, and Paula Wolfe.

Flower Girl was Miss Abby Weingart and Crown Bearer was Master Rhys Davis.

Contestants were judged in the areas of evening gown and introduction, talent, fall suit, and skit based on the homecoming theme of "Music of the Night." Each of the contestants was sponsored by a campus organization or group.

Homecoming Queen 2010 – Eliza Hodge was crowned AB University Homecoming Queen during the 2010 Queen's Pageant on Friday, October 8. She is pictured with Dr. J. Michael Clyburn, AB University President, and the 2009 Queen, Ms. Carissa Strimer.